Planning Commission

Overview and Mission Statement

Pursuant to the city's Development Code, certain development applications are reviewed and decided upon by the city's Planning Commission. The Planning Commission was established through the adoption of Ordinance Number 80 (PDF) on December 2, 1975, which was most recently amended through Ordinance Number 550 (PDF) on November 19, 2013.

By ordinance, the seven-member Planning Commission makes decisions on specific private land use planning applications such as subdivision maps, variances, and conditional use permits; reviews environmental assessments, such as Environmental Impact Reports and Negative Declarations; makes decisions on view restoration permits; and considers appeals of staff decisions on land use planning applications.

Commission Members

The Planning Commission is made up of 7 city residents appointed by the City Council for staggered 2- or 4-year terms. The Planning Commission meets on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of every month at 7 pm at the Hesse Park Community Room, 29301 Hawthorne Boulevard. View the Agenda and Minutes.

Commission Member Term Limits

NameTerm BeginsTerm ExpiresFirst AppointedTerm Limit
Email David Chura, CHAIR06/07/2022
Email Matthew Brach03/07/202306/30/202603/07/202306/30/2030
Email Robert A. Nelson11/16/202106/30/202411/16/202106/30/2028
Email Eric Nulman11/16/202106/30/202411/16/202106/30/2028
Email Stephen Perestam11/16/202106/30/2024
Email Lan Saadatnejadi11/16/202106/30/202402/20/201806/30/2024
Email Romolo (Ron) Santarosa, Vice-Chair06/07/2022

Term Limits

Term limits apply to those Planning Commissioners appointed after November 19, 2013, per Ordinance Number 550 (PDF).

Contacting the Planning Commission (PC)

The most effective manner to communicate with the PC is to send an email message to the Planning Commission. All email messages sent to the PC email address are automatically forwarded to each PC member's individual City email address. You can also email each member individually by selecting the link in their name in the Commission Member Term Limits table.